A Summer In The Ocean

When I got back from the Gaeltacht, my mom surprised me with a Mediterranean Cruise! I was so excited. I started my dress-shopping straight away. I couldn’t wait to get on that massive ship. I couldn’t wait to be in the middle of the ocean and in the burning sun (and hopefully no sunburn!). I stocked up on all the swimsuits and dresses and (I think…) too much summer clothes! The night before we left for the cruise, I packed my bag- I only brought a carry-on suitcase. It was stuffed to capacity with all the summer clothes I got!The morning of our flight was the most exciting. We flew into Barcelona on the 26th of July stayed in a gorgeous, fancy hotel. The next day was the planned day to embark the ship. We got a taxi out to the port, and the moment I saw the ship, I really got excited. We embarked about 2-3hrs before we were supposed to, thanks to a very nice man who had to deal with all the international passengers who didn’t speak Spanish. We made it into our cabin and it was absolutely gorgeous! It had a big double bed, a TV, a little table, a dressing table, a wardrobe with shelves and a kind of big bathroom. That evening at 6pm the ship set sail for Tunisia!

All aboard the Sovereign of the Seas!

All aboard the Sovereign of the Seas!

Our first full day on the boat was amazing.

Enjoying the view!

Enjoying the view!

All we did basically was just lie by the pool, ate whenever we wanted and then in the evening, dressed up for a lovely dinner and a live Broadway show (there was one on every night!) The next morning we arrived in Tunisia at approx. 7.30am. We were all put into our tour groups and we disembarked the ship to set foot in Tunisia! It was way too warm-52 degrees. We went all around Tunisia, and we did a bit a shopping. It was a bit scary and the men selling jewellery were quite intimidating. They would drag you into the back of their shops, into a dark room and try to sell you jewellery or dresses for 900 euro each! Personally, I didn’t really like Tunisia because of the heat and the fact that it was very scary. When we got back on the boat, guess what we saw on TV??… All the riots and protests that were going on in Tunisia! Just thinking that we were there while those protests were going on just made it even scarier.

The next day we went to Rome, which included going to the Vatican City. I was so exciting. We went into St. Peters Basilica and did the guided tour around it. I have to say, I fell in love with Rome and can’t wait to go back! I loved walking around the city and going to the colosseum. Our tour guide in Rome was absolutely brilliant. She was so full of information and she was so interested in it, and that just made even better. We got back just in time for dinner and we also got to see the sunset while eating. The next 3 days we basically just did whatever we wanted. We didn’t do any of the guided tours and we could hop on and hop off the boat whenever we liked. We went to Livorno the day after Rome and then Genoa the next.

The final day, it was Nice in South France. We didn’t get off at all there because we lived there for a month in 2008 so we saw no point in getting off the boat. So we spent our last day all on the boat, lounging around the pool. That night I was absolutely stunned that the time had flown by so quickly. I couldn’t believe we were leaving the boat the next morning. When we got off the boat the spent the night in Barcelona and flew home the next day! It was the best holiday ever – I would recommend a cruise to everyone, no matter what age 2-102!

Leave a Reply

