The Summer Of Fun!

The Gaeltacht

Colaiste Na nOilean  Coliste nOillean image

  At the start of the summer, I was allowed a few weeks of R&R (rest & relaxation) and a few lie-ins before heading off to a Gealtacht in Connemara called Colaiste Na nOilean for 10 days. I have to say, I wasn’t expecting it to be as good as it actually was. I went with my friend Lorraine, but I also made lots of new friends. I was in a house with 9 other girls including Lorraine. 7 of the girls were from Tullow so they all knew each other and the other but one girl named Ann-Marie came all on her own. I don’t know how she wasn’t nervous!

The next day was our first proper day… We started out with our Irish classes first thing in the morning and we had our usual break and lunch, and in the afternoon we did sports and then went off to a ceilí or disco. On our first day we basically started to get our bearings of the school and the teachers (and the fact that you had to speak Irish all day. If you are caught speaking English you are put on a list and then you are not allowed to go to the ceilí and instead you have an extra Irish class!). The classes were good fun because we just really played games. All the teachers were very nice and good fun- different.

Crowd  I think the worst day of it all was when I ended up in a bicycle sandwich…  I was out cycling with loads of other guys and girls which was great fun and kind of went a tad too fast (trying to beat the boys back to the college)!  We are just cycling back into the college when 5 seconds later I was on the ground with 2 bikes and a guy, Conor, on top of me! You see, Conor almost drove into the back of another guy and then he skidded across the road and bashed into me. I didn’t get terribly injured but Conor did sprain his wrist.

I think the best part of it was definitely the ceilís. You dance with a different person everything night and there is a theme each night with a fashion show. I would absolutely recommend the Gaeltacht to anyone between the ages of 13-18. It was honestly the most fun I have had in ages!

Leave a Reply

